Even little chefs need a break sometimes

Standard

Hola amigos! Long time no see. Did you miss me? Sorry I went MIA for so long, but I was taking a much needed rest. The past couple months have been totally loco around here and I was beginning to feel the effects of too much action and not enough down time. Therefore I took the opportunity this past week to unplug from the both the computer and the kitchen and just chill. Mis padres went on vacation to Disney World (without me!!! how dare they!!!) and I got to stay with mis abuelos for the week (the other most magical place on Earth). Boy did those two spoil me rotten. So many cuddles and so much lap-time. And unlike mi mama and papa who are total dunces when it comes to cooking, both mi abuelo and abuela are fantastic cooks and don’t require my culinary genius-ness in the kitchen. Thus allowing me to just relax on my favorite blanket with a rawhide and a Greenie and wait for them to finish what they’re doing so I can make the rounds licking cleaning up their kitchen floor. Now pair that with the half dozen or so baby carrots I was able to lure from mi abuela on a daily basis, and I was definitely living the life. Not that I don’t totally deserve it. I don’t know of too many other 8 year-old Chihuahuas who do so much for so many other people. I’m such a giver. There really should be a museum named after me. Or at least a dog park.

So now that mis padres are back in town and I’m back in my own house and my own kitchen, I’ve been cooking like crazy and doing what I can to get back into the groove. The break was nice, but I definitely love being back to my culinary ways. I can rest when I’m dead (which will be many many many years from now I promise, Mama).

One of the first meals I made once I got home was this quick and easy one-pot dish that is a healthier spin on Hamburger Helper’s Chili Mac. This version contains ground turkey breast and an abundance of vegetables and spices. So yummy, so delicious and on the table in less than 30 minutes.

So there you have it compadres. Teeny’s back and better than ever. And a year older than when last I posted. Oh yeah, did I forget to mention I celebrated my 8th birthday this past Sunday? Feliz Cumpleanos to me! And check out the great presents I received.

Doesn’t get better than this 🙂

6 responses »

  1. Feliz Cumpleanos! And yes, I did miss you! Glad to know you were able to relax and unplug for awhile, as I will hypocritically say that’s something we all need…even teeny little super chefs.

    P.S. You don’t look a day over two years old.

  2. I made this delicious meal for Ryan and myself last night and it was wonderful!! Thank you for the amazing recipe Teeny!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

