News flash: It’s not March yet

Standard

So last night as I was updating my calendar with all the upcoming events and appointments I need to attend, I noticed something unusual. Today is not the first day of March like I had originally thought. Nope, today is actually the last day of February. What the heck! When did February start having 29 days? What makes the year 2012 so special that it gets to have 366 days instead of the just 365? I was so confused and I immediately barked at mi mama to ask her what the deal was. She looked just as confused as I was and came to the conclusion that my Enrique Iglesias calendar must just have been misprinted. She did point out that the calendar would be correct in Spain, though, where Enrique is from because they’re 8 hours ahead. Hmmm…. yeah, so as much as I wanted to believe her explanation, I just wasn’t totally convinced. So instead I looked it up on the internet, because everyone knows Wikipedia is the source of all information. And lo and behold I found the answer I was looking for. Apparently this year, 2012, is known as a leap year which means that it gets an extra day added at the end of the month of February. This is done every 4 years in order to keep the calendar year in sync with the atronomical year. Pretty cool, huh. And here I thought it was just another day. P.S. To all my lovely single senoritas, according to the all-wise Wikipedia, it is considered acceptable for a woman to propose marriage to her favorite Chihuahua bachelor during a Leap Year… just putting it out there.

Therefore, in honor of this oh so special day, I have a delicioso recipe to share that will make you want to leap for joy and then leap into the kitchen to whip up this dish for yourself and all your loved ones. Because nothing says Happy Extra Day in February more than four lovely breasts… of chicken, that is (hey, keep it clean amigos. Mardi Gras was last week).

 Honey-Sesame Chicken Breasts and Potatoes

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

4 yellow potatoes, cut in half then in quarters

1 large red bell pepper, cut in strips

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup rice wine vinegar

1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce

3 tbsp hoisin sauce

3 tbsp honey

1 tbsp sesame oil

chopped green onions, for garnish

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 13×9″ baking dish with cooking spray.

2) Place potatoes and bell pepper in bottom of dish. Top with chicken breasts.

3) Combine all other ingredients, except green onions, in a small bowl. Pour over chicken and vegetables.

4) Cover dish with foil and bake 40-45 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and no longer pink.

5) Serve with a side of rice and sprinkle with green onions.

6) Enjoy!

The perfect way to end those extra 24 hours in February.

You know what is a not-so-perfect way to end the day? Having to go for my evening walk to the dog park in the cold and rain. Good thing I have a cute little coat to protect my delicate fur from the harsh elements.

Leave a Reply

