Better late than never

Standard

How did this happen? How is it possible that National Peanut Butter Day was on Tuesday, and I’m just now finding out about it? I mean seriously, I live with the Queen of Nut Butters for heaven’s sake, and still the day came and went as if it were just any other day. I’m hanging my head in shame right now and I sincerely apologize to all of you out there who rely on me to remember and notify you of such important events as the day in which we honor America’s all-time favorite sandwich spread.

Well since I can’t exactly turn back time (yet), I can still do my part in celebrating this all-important holiday, even if slightly belated. In my opinion, peanut butter should really have a whole month dedicated to it instead of just one day. Heck, China devotes a whole year to roosters and dragons and whatnot, and we can’t even honor the all-mighty peanut butter with any more than 24 hours? I think I definitely need to get in contact with my congresswoman about this issue. Well that and why it is that I’m not able to run for President of this country. So what if I was born in Mexico, bark at the vacuum cleaner and sometimes eat cat poop from the backyard…

So even though the day in which we were to celebrate this incredible edible has already come and passed, I still wanted to do my part in making peanut butter feel special. And I did so with these muy delicioso no-bake cookies.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup raw cashews

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

3 tbsp granulated sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter

3 tbsp maple syrup, honey or agave nectar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup dry-roasted peanuts

1/4 cup milk chocolate chips

1/4 cup Rice Crisp cereal

Directions:

1) In a food processor, pulse the oats and cashews into a fine flour-like powder. Add all-purpose flour, sugar and salt and pulse until combined.

2) Add peanut butter, maple syrup and vanilla and process until it resembles a cookie dough. Add flour if too sticky, add more maple syrup or peanut butter if too flour-y. Add peanuts and chocolate chips and pulse until combined but still chunky.

3) Scoop dough into a bowl. Add cereal and stir to combine.

4) Form into little balls and transfer to a plate. Freeze balls 20-30 minutes before eating… or 5 minutes as was the case with mi mama. When it comes to peanut butter, that chick goes totally loco.

So there you go. Happy Belated National Peanut Butter, mi amigos. Now do yourself, your loved ones and anyone else who would appreciate a tasty ball of nutty goodness, a favor and make some of these little babies. If nothing else, do it for the sake of peanut butter.

As for me, I better be going now. I just got out of the bath tub and need to get my fur blow-dried and styled. Beauty day for me!

9 responses »

  1. I need a beauty day too, so perhaps we should schedule a mani/pedi party? Anyway, I have to eat sunbutter because of a peanut thing, but I eat it almost every day (when I’m home and not on the road for work and bitter, like right now.) Sigh…anyway, I love my nut butter, so every day I celebrate it! Your cookies look delicious 😉

    • As you could probably tell from the picture, I am in serious need of a pedicure. Mi mama keeps forgetting to trim my horrendous toe nails. It’s pretty on ladies to have long nails, but rather unappealing on such a manly little dude as myself. Perhaps when you get back from your work trip we can schedule a little spa outing. I’ll bring a jar of sunflower seed butter.. convince ya yet?

  2. I totally did not realize it was National Peanut butter day, either! SADNESS.

    These no-bake balls sound dangerous. Almost too easy to throw together and even EASIER to eat a whole batch in one sitting.

    Also, in response to your comment about the mac and cheese, you could substitute swiss for gruyere or just double the cheddar!

    • Yes, they are a little dangerous in how easy they are to make and thus devour. Good practice in self-control, whatever that is 🙂 Thanks for the cheese substitution suggestion. I like the idea of adding Swiss to it for a nice little twist on the classic.

    • Gracias Marisa! Although these aren’t actually the ELF balls. Just another awesome treat I made in ball form. I’m keeping the ELF ball recipe a secret until they’re big reveal at the Farmer’s Market this summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

