Baking in a winter wonderland

Standard

I don’t know if you heard, but I’m a Chihuahua. As in, I’m from Mexico. As in, I’m a warm weather type of a guy. So imagine my surprise and bewilderment when I woke up this morning, greeted by this crazy white stuff falling from the sky.

Yep, that’s me doing my morning “business” outside in the snow… definitely no bueno.  The only other time I’ve seen this much white powder was when I visited my cousin out in Hollywood and accidentally hopped into Lindsay Lohan’s purse at a nightclub instead of mi mama’s.

So given the circumstances of today’s weather forecast, I made the wise decision to stay indoors and crank up the oven for a day of cooking and baking. Not that I need an excuse to stay home and perfect my culinary skills, but snow and extreme cold are definitely good ones. My delicate Mexican skin can’t take such frigidness. It can handle some yummy Pineapple Coconut Muffins, though. If I can’t be in a warm tropical climate right now, I can at least channel them mentally through some delicious baked goodies.

Tropical Pineapple-Coconut Muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup ground flaxseeds

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

2 eggs or 1/2 cup egg substitute

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 tsp vanilla extract

8 oz crushed pineapple, drained

2 cups grated carrots

1/2 cup raisins

shredded sweetened coconut, for topping

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray and set aside.

2) Combine flours, flaxseed, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl.

3) Combine eggs, applesauce, vanilla, pineapple, carrots and raisins in another large bowl until smooth.

4) Add dry ingredients to wet and stir until just combined.

5) Pour batter into muffin cups 3/4 full. Sprinkle with shredded coconut. Bake 18-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean when inserted.

6) Repeat with remaining batter. I ended up with 16 muffins total.

7) Allow to cool in pan 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack. Enjoy!

Mmmm, these make me feel like I should be sipping a Mai Tai while lounging on the beaches of Acapulco in my little blue Speed-o… or at least how I probably would feel if I weren’t a four-legged canine who doesn’t drink because I have no alcohol dehyrogenase enzymes in my tiny digestive system in order to break down all that rum.

Well on that note, muchachos, I better be going. Instead of a beach, I have a nice warm blanket I need to go burrow in and hibernate. See you again once I thaw out. Perhaps the spring….

6 responses »

  1. Well, Chauncey is part Chihuahua, but he lives in Michigan and actually likes the snow. However, we also make him wear a sweater when the windchill gets sub-zero. He doesn’t seem to mind.

    But I agree with you in that I am a warm weather creature! Regardless of the season though, baking is in order. Glad you were able to recover 😉

    • I like wearing sweaters and outfits too, despite what mi papa thinks. The only time I get to dress up is when he is at work and mi mama can put me in all my cute little outfits when he’s not around. I especially like my footie pajamas. They keep me really warm and make me look svelte.

  2. I’m not much of a fan of snow either, but I DO appreciate these muffins! At least you got a taste of the tropics in some form!

    In response to your comment on my blog, you can definitely use flour tortillas for the enchiladas! Let me know if you try them!

Leave a Reply

