Aside

For most of the year (364 days to be exact) my world revolves around mi papa. There are times I really think the sun rises and sets for him and there’s no greater reason for getting up in the morning than to able to spend time cuddling with him on the couch. In all honesty, I think mi papa is a God and there should be a new religion formed where people and animals sit around together and worship him on an hourly basis. Maybe someday… In the meantime, however, there is still one day of the year when I think mi mama should actually be given a little bit of attention. At least for enough time that she can blow out her thirty-one twenty-five candles on her cake and we can all tell her “Happy Birthday.”

Well, today is that day. And in her honor I would like to say “Feliz Cumpleanos Mama” and share with you the delicioso recipe I came up with for her birthday Blueberry Cake Doughnuts. Why doughnuts, you may be asking. Well because she doesn’t eat cake but goes completely loco for blueberry doughnuts. I think they bring her back to her childhood when she would be allowed to get a doughnut when shopping at the grocery store with her mama and she would always get a Blueberry Cake Doughnut. Not the regular glazed doughnut, or the chocolate sprinkled one, but the Blueberry Cake doughnut. As odd as that may be, I still wanted to make her something she would truly enjoy for dessert. And in true Mama-fashion, she only ate two bites of it and wrapped up the rest for mi papa. Apparently she thinks he is the center of our universe as well. Smart lady (hmm, never thought the day would come when I would say that).

Baked Blueberry Cake Doughnuts

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup milk, any kind

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 tbsp canola oil

2 eggs or 1/2 cup egg substitute

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 tbsp milk

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees. Spray a large doughnut pan with Pam and set aside.

2) Mix flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt in medium-size bowl. Set aside.

3) Mix milk, sugar, oil, eggs, vanilla and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add flour mixture and stir until well combined. Fold in blueberries.

4) Pour batter into doughnut cups and fill 2/3 of the way.

5) Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted.

6) Allow doughnuts to cool 5 minutes before removing the a wire rack.

7) Combine powdered sugar and milk in a shallow bowl. Dip completely cooled doughnuts into glaze and enjoy!

Thank goodness this day only occurs once a year. I don’t think I can take having to spend any more time away from mi papa.

Feliz Cumpleanos Mamacita!

Twenty-five for the sixth year in a row

6 responses »

    • Gracias Whitney! Chihuahuas are pretty much the bomb dot com. I would love to see a picture of your’s. Is it a little boy or girl?

  1. That cake doughnut looks absolutely divine, Teeny! What a great way to celebrate tu mama’s birthday! As much as I’d love to live close to you, it is better for my waistline that I live far far away. How do you stay so trim and slim? Hope you are staying warm these days.

    • Gracias Senora Susan! I keep my slender physique with daily pilates and yoga sessions followed by some moderate weight lifting with my personal trainer. It costs a pretty peso but the results are so worth it, especially since I love to indulge in all the fruits of my labor. Someday I hope to cook for you. I promise to make it healthy and waist-line friendly 🙂

    • Gracias Tia Annie! She did have fun celebrating her birthday, and she especially loved the card you sent her. Mucho awesome!

Leave a Reply

