Reader Request Recipe

Standard

Hola mi amigos! I hope you’re all having wonderful weekends so far. I started my morning off with a hearty breakfast, an intense Pilates session and a little cooking action in the kitchen. The other day a lovely blog reader (hi Allison!) contacted me with a request for a yummy and healthy cranberry sauce recipe that contains little to no real or fake sugars. As it happens, I have an awesome recipe for one that I have been making for mi familia for the past seven years. I’ve been meaning to post this since November, back even before Thanksgiving but realized I had never taken a picture of the final dish. Apparently everyone loved it so much that it was gone before it could be properly documented… or I was just too busy licking the floor and begging politely asking for carrots, that I completely forgot about a picture. So since I was asked so kindly and the fact that Christmas is just around the corner, I got down to business this morning and made my cranberry sauce. It’s oh so delicioso, low in sugar and pretty much the best accompaniment to any main meat or non-meat dish you could find. I hope you enjoy!

Teeny’s Cranberry Apple/Pear Relish

12 oz fresh or frozen cranberries

2 Granny Smith apples, peeled and chopped

2 very ripe Bartlett pears, peeled and chopped

1/2 cup white grape juice or apple juice

1/4 cup sweetener of your choice (white sugar, brown sugar, agave nectar, Stevia etc)

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

Directions:

1) Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil.

2) Lower heat and allow to thicken 15-20 minutes.

3) Cool completely before serving. I think it tastes best the next day after all the flavors have been able to meld together.

4) Serve with a turkey, spiral ham, on a sandwich, on top of yogurt, in a bowl of oatmeal, straight out of the pot with a spoon etc.

So there you have it. And gracias Allison for lighting the fire under my tooshie to finally post this recipe. I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I had a very busy morning and I’m ready for a little snooze.

Hmm, I think there’s a pea underneath the blue blanket. It’s making it rather uncomfortable to sleep.

2 responses »

  1. This is the best cranberry dish, ever!!! I’m happy to say I’ve been enjoying it for the past 7 years. Thank you, Teeny! I need to go make some now.

Leave a Reply

