A return to normalcy… relatively speaking

Standard

Forgive me amigos, for I have sinned. It’s been nearly four days since my last post and nearly three since I even set foot in the kitchen to cook– blasphemy! Such a bad little chef I’ve been. Having mi papa’s familia in town for the past week has really messed up my whole routine and I apologize for taking so long to make a new blog appearance. So many new and different laps to sit on can really keep a guy busy. Not to mention all the delicious crumbs and spills to lick up off the kitchen floor… mmmm, gotta love the holidays.

Despite the usual amount of time I generally spend in the kitchen this past week, I do still have a yummy recipe to share with you. I’m sure you’re all pretty sick of pumpkin by now, but I promise you, these brownies will totally knock your socks off. Or least make you think twice about swearing off the orange stuff for awhile. Lord knows mi mama still hasn’t kicked the habit, as her recent trip to Costco definitely proved. Nine more cans of puree to try to figure out what to do with– oh woe is me.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Brownies

15 oz can pumpkin puree

1/4 cup canola oil or applesauce

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs or 1/2 cup egg substitute

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1  cup rolled oats

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Mix pumpkin, oil, brown sugar, eggs and vanilla in a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer on medium until blended.

3) Add flour, oats, baking powder, salt, cocoa, cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg and mix on low until smooth.

4) Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts. Spread in greased 9×9″ square pan and bake 25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

5) Allow to cool on wire rack before cutting into squares. Best served warm and topped with vanilla ice cream. Or at least that’s what I’ve heard 🙂

Well there you have it people. Now I must go. I’m pooped from all the excitement of this week. In addition to all our guests being here and entertaining, I was also asked to act as Grand Marshall in this year’s Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

Just another day in the life of a global culinary superstar.

2 responses »

    • Gracias abuela! I’m glad you liked the brownies. You’d probably really like them now since they’re almost a week old… nice and stale 🙂

Leave a Reply

