They’ve gone bananas for doughnuts

Standard

Seriously, is there any combination more deserving of each other than bananas and peanut butter? Well besides Lindsay Lohan and an orange jumpsuit. I think not. There’s just something about a luscious ripe banana smeared with a hefty glob of peanut butter that makes me want to swoon with happiness. Well, I’ve never actually gotten the joy of getting to eat this delicious snack as I am on a strict diet of kibble and carrots, but I’ve definitely witnessed mi mama and papa oohing and ahhing over some PB-bananas on numerous occasions. Especially when slathered with my homemade peanut butter… hint hint. The other day I happened to come across two very ripe, very spotty bananas hanging out in the banana hammock <insert inappropriate comment here> just screaming to be used in some sort of baked good. I was actually very surprised and completely delighted to see these two bananas had made it this long in our house without being eaten. Both mi mama and papa have at least one banana a day, so we almost never have any hanging around that I can steal for a bread or muffin recipe. I often times have to hide a few bananas in places around the house that I know mi padres won’t be looking (like on a bookshelf or in with the cleaning supplies, in mi mama’s case) just so I can allow them to ripen to the point I can use them in a baked good.

So as I said, I was very delighted to find two bananas all ripe and ready to be mashed and stirred into some sort of yummy dough. Given the love mi padres have for bananas with peanut butter, I decided to surprise them with some muy delicioso baked doughnuts. They went over so well at mi abuelas birthday party, I figured they would be equally appreciated this time around too. And boy were they! I think I may have even detected a few tears of joy coming from mi mama’s eyes… although that might have just been her physical reaction to my licking her eyeball on accident. I can’t help where this tongue flails about sometimes. Lo siento, mama.

Baked Banana-Peanut Butter Doughnuts

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup quick cooking rolled oats

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

3/4 cup milk

1 cup peanut butter

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 egg or 1/4 cup egg substitute

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/8 cup applesauce

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup powdered sugar

4 tbsp milk

2 tbsp peanut butter

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a donut pan with Pam and set aside.

2) Combine flour, oats, baking powder and brown sugar in a large bowl.

3) Whisk together the milk, peanut butter, bananas, egg, oil, applesauce and vanilla in a medium size bowl.

4) Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

5) Pour dough into individual donut cups about 2/3 full. Bake 15 minutes or until slightly browned. Remove from oven and allow to cool 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack. Repeat with remaining batter to make a total of 12 doughnuts.

6) Combine powdered sugar, milk and peanut butter in a small bowl until smooth. Drizzle over cooled doughnuts and enjoy!

Honestly, does it get any better than that? Now get in the kitchen and make yourself a batch of doughnuts to enjoy too instead of just drooling over pictures of mine. And stop licking your computer screen, mama. Typing on a wet keyboard is bad for my delicate paws. And it’s hard to see through the drool lines.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I really must be going. I’m the guest of honor at the Tau Lambda Sigma Gamma annual holiday party this evening and I still need to clip my toenails and apply my flea medication before I leave. Should be a fun little fiesta.

Leave a Reply

