Cookies for mi Abuelo

Standard

It’s no secret that my preference for different people is mostly based on a) whether or not they let me sit on their laps and then b) how comfortable his or her lap actually is. It gets a little more complicated after that as I then rank the person on how many carrots I can finagle out of them throughout the course of an evening and finally on how long they will let me lick their kitchen floors before telling me to stop. Mi papa still holds the lead as far as all that criteria goes, obviously. His lap is warm and inviting, he sneaks me one or two extra carrots every night while mi mama isn’t looking and he is very often oblivious to my floor licking… especially when football is on TV or he’s busy stuffing his face with one of my delicious creations.

Now the title of Teeny’s second favorite human being tends to waiver back and forth between mi abuelo Werner and mi abuela Robin. I spend a lot of time cooking for and cuddling with them over at their house, especially when mis padres go out of town.  Each time I’m there the runner-up title is awarded to someone different. As of right now, mi abuelo holds the coveted status of second favorite… possibly because he is the one of the two of them that I’ve seen most recently and also because he slipped me a carrot on my way out the door. Score one for Abuelo!

Therefore, in his honor this morning I decided to bake his all-time favorite baked goodie– Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. Now, I’ve made these cookies at least 25 times for him and each and every time he tells me it’s my best batch ever. Hey, the man speaks the truth. He loves these cookies so much that I’ve actually seen him snatch one out of a child’s hand because he can’t bear to share even a single morsel with anyone else. That’s love, people. So, Abuelo, these cookies are all for you.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

2/3 cup brown sugar, packed

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1-2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs or 1/2 cup egg substitute

3 cups quick-cooking rolled oats

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

2) Combine sugars, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.

3) Add butter, applesauce, vanilla and eggs and mix well to combine.

4) Stir in flour and oats, one cup at a time until combined. Add nuts and chocolate chips and stir to combine.

5) Drop spoonful-size blobs of dough onto a cookie sheet and bake 10-15 minutes or until browned.

6) Remove from pan and allow to cook on wire rack (if you can restrain from eating them straight from the oven).

I hope you enjoy these Abuelo. I’m sure these will be my best batch ever 🙂

In the meantime, I need to go find my “favorite” lap to sit on for a while. I think he’s beginning to get a tad bit jealous, what with all this baking cookies in another person’s honor and all.

Ahh, all is well again.

Leave a Reply

