A new spin on pasta

Standard

Do you ever have one of those moments in the kitchen where you have no idea what the heck you’re going to cook and so you just start throwing a bunch of different things together in a skillet and then before you know it, the resulting meal ends up tasting like heaven in a big ‘ol bowl? No, just me? Well, that’s exactly what happened to me last night. After enjoying my evening carrot underneath the coffee table, I meandered back into the kitchen without any plan for what I would be making for that evening’s meal. I like to have a plan. Usually I figure it out during my morning yoga session (yes, I know I should be meditating during this time, but it’s impossible to turn my teeny chef brain off). But during this particular morning, a new Shih tzu had joined our session and I was too busy staring at her lovely tail than think about food. Although the idea of a rump roast did come to mind…

Anyway, back to dinner. I found myself standing in the kitchen without a plan or a recipe and so I did what any other culinary genius would do– created. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t (we won’t even talk about the Chocolate Chicken Piccata disaster). Luckily, in this particular instance, it worked, and now I will share the recipe with you. Forgive me if the measurements aren’t totally precise. I was too busy making magic happen than remember to write everything down.

Chicken Peanut Pasta

2 tsp canola oil

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, chopped

1 large carrot, julienned

1 red bell pepper, julienned

3 cups broccoli florets, cut into bite-size pieces

8 oz package rotini pasta

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp agave nectar or honey

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced

chopped peanuts, for garnish

Directions:

1) Cook the pasta according to package directions. Rinse and set aside.

2) Heat the canola oil in a large skillet or pot over medium-high. Add the chicken and cook until no longer pink.

3) Meanwhile, steam the veggies (carrot, bell pepper and broccoli) until they turn bright in color, about 2-3 minutes. Do not overcook. Blanch under cold water and set aside.

4) In a small bowl, whisk together the peanut butter, water, sesame oil, soy sauce, agave nectar, vinegar and ginger. Add to the skillet with the chicken. Stir to combine.

5) Add the pasta and veggies to the skillet. Stir well to combine and cover everything with the sauce. Allow to heat 4-5 minutes.

6) Portion onto 4 individual serving plates or bowls and top with chopped peanuts. Start swooning 🙂

Mi papa was all about this meal. I’m pretty sure he ate at least 3 of the 4 servings in just one sitting. Gotta love the metabolism of a young male athlete. Unlike me, who bloats up to the size stuffed burrito if I accidentally lick the floor one too many times.

I think next time I make this, I’ll try it with tofu instead of chicken. Then mi mama can do the same amount of ooing and ahhing as mi papa. Plus, we all know she adores anything with peanut butter…

Speaking of mi mama, I was looking through our spice cabinet the other day and came across something quite disturbing. Perhaps another intervention may be in order.

3 responses »

  1. “Although the idea of a rump roast did come to mind…” <- Bahahaha!!!

    Oh my gosh, most if not ALL of my dinners start out as sauteed onions in a pan and the next thing I know, I'm throwing 85% of the contents of my fridge into the skillet as well! Surprisingly enough, all those meals have ended up pretty darn tasty if I do say so myself!

    Oh and just wanted you to know, that I about fell out of my chair over that last pic! Love it!

    • Gracias Heather! Apparently mi mama has some kind of a love affair with Vietnamese Cinnamon. Hey, at least it’s not crack, right?
      Te amo your blog, by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

