Doughnuts for the birthday girl

Standard

You may not be aware of this (especially since I don’t like to brag) but in addition to being a master chef, culinary genius and jet-setting supermodel, I am also a very well-known and highly esteemed party planner. Yes, it’s true. In fact, I’ve been the brains behind many parties and receptions that most of the world is probably somewhat familiar with. You’ve heard of William and Kate, right?

So, this past weekend was mi abuela’s birthday and mi mama decided she wanted to throw her a surprise party. Of course she immediately turned to me to take the reins in planning the whole fiesta, of which I was very happy to oblige– with a fee of course. Since she was family I only charged her two Costco-size bags of baby carrots instead of the regular ten. What can I say? I’m a softy when it comes to mi abuela. She gives good cuddles.

Given the fact that the party was to be held on a Sunday afternoon, I began pondering over just what type of get-together we should have for her. Obviously, any kind of party involving keg stands or strippers was immediately tossed aside, much to mi mama’s dismay. After much thought, we finally settled on the idea of throwing her an afternoon tea party complete with finger sandwiches, teeny appetizers, bite-size desserts, mimosas and of course, tea. I wanted to make sure to incorporate all of her favorite foods into the spread so in addition to all the yummy foods I prepared, I also included little bowls of Hot Tamales and Jelly Beans and made her all-time favorite food in the world… the food she once said she would choose to eat if only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of her life. Doughnuts. Cake doughnuts, to be exact. As luck would have it, I had just ordered a new doughnut pan off of Amazon a few days prior and figured this would be the perfect opportunity to try it out. Seeing as how I am the TeenyLittleSuperChef who likes to make only healthy, heart-friendly meals and baked goods for family and friends, I naturally tweaked the recipe for a typical fattening, overly sweet doughnut and made it more of one I could be proud of. And the end result? Well I’ll just let this picture do the talking…

 

Baked Cake Doughnuts with Vanilla Glaze

Doughnut ingredients:

3/4 cup milk

1 tsp lemon juice

2 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp agave nectar or honey

1/4 cup white sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Glaze ingredients:

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tbsp agave nectar or honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp milk

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) In a small bowl, whisk together milk, lemon juice, vanilla, agave and sugar.

3) In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

4) Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix until just combined.

5) Pour into greased doughnut pan and bake 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

6) Allow to cool completely before icing.

7) Mix icing ingredients in a small bowl using a hand-held mixer on low until creamy. Spread on cooled doughnuts and top with sprinkles.

8) Serve to all your tea party guests and watch them become amazed at how delicious a low-fat, non-fried cake doughnut can really taste.

*Side note: If you want to make chocolate doughnuts like the other ones shown in the picture, add in 1/4 cup cocoa with the dry ingredients and 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips with the wet. Muy chocolatey!

So the doughnuts were a huge success and mi abuela was extremely happy to have them served on her special day, although I think she would have been happier had she not had to share them with her friends. Now I know where mi mama gets it…

Well I must be going now. I managed to sneak a couple mouthfuls of food from the party guests’ plates when they weren’t looking and now I’m feeling a little bit flabby. To the gym I must go.

Stay buff, my friends.

Leave a Reply

