I’m baaaaaaack!!!

Standard

Hola mi muchachos! The TeenyLittleSuperChef is back and boy does it feel good to be in the kitchen again. Mi best amiga, Bella, and I had a wonderful time together, seeing all the sights, going for long walks in the park, licking the insides of each other’s ears… so nice to have another culinary canine genius around again. She promised me that once she finds a decent picture of herself (oh women) she will write a guest post for the blog!

Enough about my absence though, time to get back to business. So last night, after mi amiga had left for the airport, I was feeling rather sad. So sad that I began drowning my sorrows in a large bag of Greenies and baby carrots. What can I say? I’m sometimes an emotional eater. Unfortunately, not only did I fail to feel any happier after eating my 13th carrot, but I also had a big stomach ache and knew I’d probably be paying later for all that fiber I had just consumed. So I put the bags away and decided instead of bingeing, I should create a new recipe that would remind me of my lovely friend and a trip to the Greek Isles we had taken a few years ago. Ahhh Greece. What a marvelous place for two little foodies to visit and explore. From the olives to the cheeses to the Spanakopitas, we were in total Mediterranean cuisine heaven. Not to mention all the nude beaches we came across. Finally we didn’t have to feel weird about being the only ones not wearing pants.

So after looking through the contents of our refrigerator and discovering we had an unopened container of Feta cheese, I came up with a delectable Greek recipe in honor of my petite Poodle friend.

Bella’s Greek Chicken Penne

16 oz Penne pasta

1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup yellow onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

14 oz. can artichoke hearts, marinated or just in water

14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, undrained

1 cup crumbled Feta cheese

3 tbsp fresh Parsley, chopped

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp dried oregano

6 oz can tomato paste

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1) Cook the pasta in a large pot until al dente. Drain and set aside.

2) Heat the oil in a large skillet or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion, garlic and chicken and cook until chicken is no longer pink.

3) Reduce heat to medium-low and add all other ingredients (including pasta) except Feta cheese. Allow to simmer 10 minutes.

4) Add cheese and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper and transfer to individual bowls. Top with additional cheese if you wish. I did 🙂

Holy delicious-ness! Or as mi mama kept saying, “This meal is awesome-sauce!” (her vocabulary is very limited, as you can tell. Don’t worry, she will not be guest posting any time soon).

So the next time you’re feeling blue and the urge for Greek food suddenly hits, give this dish a try. I promise it’ll put a smile on your face. Or at least make you put down that bag of Greenies and baby carrots.

Now if you’ll excuse me, there’s a whole lot of housework needing to be done and the maid is off for the day. If only I could find something to keep the dirt and grime off my lovely fur.

 

Ahhh, much better. Adios my friends.

One response »

Leave a Reply

