The Little Plant that Could

Standard

If you like rosemary, you’re going to love this recipe I have for you today. And if you don’t like rosemary, well it’s possible there is no hope for you and honestly I’m not sure we can even be friends anymore. When mi mama and papa moved into our new house last summer, so many people brought us housewarming gifts. Some of the more popular items being house plants, bouquets of flowers and fresh herb plants. Mi mama’s grandmother, Anna (whom we sometimes refer to as the Butter Queen as she is convinced butter should replace fruits and vegetables as one of the main food groups) in particular gave us a small rosemary plant about the size of one teeny super chef. Mi papa planted the rosemary and much like a young girl after completion of her freshman year at college,  it has completely tripled in volume and girth. Luckily, I have managed to maintain my extreme svelteness.

Please forgive my eyes not being open for this photo. I was caught during one of my morning meditation sessions.

So anyway, back to my monstrous rosemary plant. Due to its growing so rapidly, I have been trying my best to create as many recipes as possible that utilize this wonderful herb before it completely takes over my garden. Incorporating the three chicken breasts I happened to have chilling in my refrigerator from our previous day’s trip to the local farmer’s market (organic, free-range meat is really the only way to go if you must partake in animal consumption… just sayin), I concocted this tasty and delicious meal brimming with the magical flavor of rosemary. It’s really quite simple and easy and perfect  for one of those weeknights when you want a home-cooked meal without spending a lot of time in the kitchen. And it’s incredibly healthy and won’t end up clogging your arteries like some of those all-too-frequented fast food chicken establishments. I won’t name any in particular, but there’s one that starts with KF and ends with C.

Baked Rosemary Chicken with Balsamic Bell Peppers

3 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

3 bell peppers (red, orange and yellow), sliced into strips

1 yellow onion, sliced into strips

1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1-2 garlic cloves, minced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth

3/4 tsp fennel seeds

1/4 tsp dried oregano

a whole lot of fresh rosemary, chopped (I used around 2 tbsp)

Directions:

1) Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Arrange bell peppers, onions and cherry tomatoes in a large casserole dish. Place chicken breasts on top.

3) Combine all other ingredients in a mixing bowl and stir well.

4) Pour over chicken and vegetables in baking dish. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

5) Cover with foil and bake 30-45 minutes, basting with juices every 15 minutes. Cook until chicken is done and no longer pink on the inside.

6) Serve atop a blanket of hot cooked rice, millet, quinoa or couscous and fresh-from-the-garden green beans, lightly steamed.

7) Enjoy and thank the Teeny Little Super Chef for coming up with such a scrumptious meal.

Now if you’ll please excuse me, I must go rinse off this leave-in conditioner before it dries into a crust on my delicate skin.

Happy Labor Day!

3 responses »

Leave a comment